About Me

I was born in Tucson in 1960 and still have strong Arizona roots. But I list my hometown as Tulsa because we moved there when I was 2 and stayed until I left high school. From there I spent 7 years in the Boston area, attending Tufts University, which was mostly an excuse to read books and not work for 4 years. I have moved to Durham twice, both to follow women. Ended up marrying the second one. After spending 9 months here in 1985-86, I lived in New York City for 2 years, returning for good in 1988. I love living in Durham in part because it's a lot like living in Tulsa without having to live in Tulsa any more. These travels have made my accent rather thick and a tad unusual - an amalgamation of the Oklahoma and Piedmont drawls with a dash of Brooklyn Yiddish. Since then I got divorced then married Pam Adams in 1999. We currently have an animal population of 1 dog and 4 cats, all strays who found us.

I retired from politics in 2010 and only returned because I saw the need for someone to articulate the libertarian message in this race. I was raised to abhor violence and respect all people regardless of race or gender or anything else, which means I've been libertarian all my life. The most beautiful thing in the world to me is seeing someone fully accepting themselves and taking control of their own life, without shame or apologies. If everyone got comfortable inside their own skin, this world would be a much happier place.

My hobbies besides politics are cooking and baking, studying food as medicine, reading philosophy and history, listening to music, taking road trips across America, and fantasy football. I don't align myself with any particular religion, but I am an Oklahoma Sooners football fan, which is pretty much the same thing.

(And to download a rack card you can print out—3-up, two-sided—and distribute yourself, click here.)